Just call me Andy (Warhol)

I have a college education, times two.  Yup, I went twice.  And I don’t use any of that education in my job.  Yay me, for an awesome use of money!

Before my kids were born I designed wedding invitations, and my plan has always been to go back to it.  But last year I got sidetracked… I started painting portraits and pets and it took off.  I never considered commissioning my work before, but as I have discovered things tend to work out better for me when I just go with the flow and don’t plan too much.

This is one of the first paintings I did, and it’s hanging in my husband’s office.

IMG_3778

I work from photos.  Here is the original.

DSC_2697

Aren’t we cute?  First I sketch the photo in pencil, then I choose my color scheme.  I try to stick to two or three colors as that gives the best pop art feel.  Too many colors and it gets a bit too busy.  This painting gave me some trouble… I tried it in blue first, and I just wasn’t feeling it.

first version

Yuck.  One of the reasons I love paint as a medium is because if something sucks, you can just paint over it and nobody will know.  Except I just told you.  DOH!  And here’s the finished product:

IMG_3778

Leave a Reply

