Anniversary Party

Last month we threw a pretty epic anniversary/birthday party.  Hubber and I are both turning the big 4-0 this year, and it’s our ten year wedding anniversary.  My parents and friends flew in from Canada and my cousins came over from Holland.  We held it at our house and it was pretty awesome.

The party had a pink floral theme with gold accents.  Here are some pictures of the details.

I hand painted the signage and menus, and made the plastic wine glasses pretty with little paper roses.  Due to the rental company sending the wrong sized tables I had to come up with some last minute centerpieces the night before but you would never know come dinnertime what a ball of stress that was.  A big thank you to the unexpected weather patterns for messing up another large scale event for me  – the first being my wedding.

DSC_3993

It’s important to note that Hubber hates Michael Buble.  Naturally, this means I need to Buble shiz up as often as possible, so I had asked our guests to give him a Buble related gift at the party.  We got some pretty epic stuff including a “signed” picture and some really high quality whiskey with a somewhat explicit photo of Michael on a custom label.

I made him a picture in photoshop, because two Bubles are better than one.

Behind the scenes, everything went wrong for this party.  It’s a month after the fact and I’m still not over how much of a disaster stuff was right up until guests started arriving.  It was all things that were out of my hands like weather not cooperating, vendors supplying the wrong tables and chairs with curse words scrawled on the back, things like that.  But in the end it all came together and people have told me they had a great time.  It looked beautiful.  So all in all, it was a success!  Just a much more stressful success than I have ever experienced in all my years of party planning.  I guess I got off easy with my wedding since things went pretty smoothly, so I was due.

The main lesson here is, of course, that things will never go as smoothly as you expect and you’ve just gotta roll with the punches.  The guests only knew that things looked great, the food was excellent and they were having a great time.  They didn’t know about the gonzo nutball lead-up I had experienced in the days before.  Try to keep that in mind during your wedding, mitzvah, quincineara, or whatever event it is you are planning.  THINGS WILL GO WRONG.  LIFE WILL GO ON.  Someday, you will laugh about it all.  I’m not quite at the laughing part yet, but that might be because I’ve sobered up from the party.  Somebody pour me another drink…

Leave a Reply

