Life by number

I like to think of myself as a creative person.  But sometimes I just want to zone out and not think.  That’s why I love paint by numbers.  Not the cheesy ones of woodland creatures or huge boats sailing on a rough sea – no.  I ain’t no blind grandma.  I like the ones that are a little bit different and don’t look like a typical number project.

When I first moved to Texas I wanted a painting to go over our mantel.  I browsed online and saw a painting I loved, but it cost around $400.  I couldn’t justify that price when I could paint something myself, so I didn’t buy it.  But when I saw that same painting as a number kit for much, much less, I had to scoop that sucker up.

paint by number

We moved to a new house last year and I gained a bathroom.  I wanted to spruce up the beige walls in the upstairs bathroom, but was feeling burnt out with the end of school and packing and everything a move entails and was creatively pretty tapped out.  So I went back to amazon and found a funky paint by number kit.

fish paint by number

If you’re not artistic but don’t have a huge budget to blow on a fantastic piece of art, go online and check out some paint by number kits.  You’ll have to wade through some typical blah-diddy-blah-blah old school designs, but you if you stick with it you can find some unique pieces out there for under $50.  All you need is patience to find it, then patience to paint it!

 

Leave a Reply

